Skip to main content

India - States / Union Territories and their capitals - Updated

Guest Post by Veda

About India

  • India is one of the oldest civilizations of the world with rich cultural heritage.
  • The official name of India is Republic of India or Bharat Ganrajya in Hindi.
  • India is a Sovereign Socialist Secular Republic with a Parliamentary system of government.
  • India is the 7th largest country in the world and the 2nd most populated country of the world.
  • The sub-continent of India lies in Asia.
  • India is surrounded by the Great Himalaya Mountains in the North, Bay of Bengal Sea in the East, Arabian Ocean in the West and Indian Ocean in the South.
  • There are 29 States and 7 Union Territories in India.
  • Official language is Hindi which is written in Devanagari script.
  • Currency is Rupee (Rs.) and paise.
  • India became free from British rule on 15th August 1947.
  • A majority of the population follow Hindu religion.

Neighbouring Countries of India

  • Afghanistan and Pakistan are to the North-west of India.
  • China and Nepal to the North.
  • Bhutan to the North-east.
  • Bangladesh and Myanmar the East.
  • Sri Lanka to the South separated from the mainland of India by a narrow strip of sea formed by Palk Strait and the Gulf of Mannar.

States and State Capitals of India

New Delhi

28 States and their capitals

1.  Andhra Pradesh
Amaravati (under construction)
2.  Arunachal Pradesh
3.  Assam
4.  Bihar
5.  Chhattisgarh
6.  Goa
7.  Gujarat
8.  Haryana
9.  Himachal Pradesh
10. Jharkhand
11. Karnataka
Bengaluru (formerly known as Bangalore)
12. Kerala
Thiruvananthapuram (formerly Trivandrum)
13. Madhya Pradesh
14. Maharashtra
Mumbai (formerly Bombay)
15. Manipur
16. Meghalaya
17. Mizoram
18. Nagaland
19. Odisha
20. Punjab
21. Rajasthan
22. Sikkim
23. Tamil Nadu
Chennai (formerly Madras)
24. Telangana (newly formed state)
25. Tripura
26. Uttar Pradesh
27. Uttarakhand
28. West Bengal
Kolkata (formerly Calcutta)

8 Union Territories and their capitals

1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands
Port Blair
2. Chandigarh
3. Dadar and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu
5. The Govt of NCT (National Capital Territory) of Delhi
6. Jammu & Kashmir
Srinagar (summer capital)
Jammu (winter capital)
7. Ladakh
8. Lakshadweep
9. Puducherry (Pondicherry)

Popular posts from this blog

Lyrics And Meaning Of Ramadasu Keertana - Paluke Bangaramayena Kodandapani

Raagam : Ananda Bhairavi
Taalam : Aadi

Paluke bangaramayena Kodandapani - 2

paluke bangaramaye pilachina palukavemi - 2
kalalo nee nama smarana marava chakkani tandri

Concise meaning - The agony of Bhakta Ramadas is reflected in this keertana. Sri Rama is referred as Kodandapani (the wielder of bow) in this song. Ramadasu questions Rama why He (Rama) is not answering to his (Ramadasu) prayers though he (Ramadas) did not forget to chant His (Rama) name in his (Ramadasu) dreams?

Yenta vedina gani suntaina daya raadu - 2
pantamu seyaga nenentati vaadanu tandri - 2

Concise meaning - Ramadasu says why Rama is not showing mercy on him in spite of his repeated requests. He (Ramadasu) mentions that he is an ordinary man and how can he show his stubbornness with god.

Iruvuga isukalona poralina udata bhakti - 2
karuninchi brochitivani nera nammitini tandri - 2

Concise meaning - Ramadasu says that how can he believe that Rama was merciful to the small creature / squirrel which showed its devotion by…

Farewell Speech By School Principal to Outgoing Students

Author Reserves All Rights.
Listen to the speech in my YouTube Channel:
This sample speech would be helpful for the school principal to deliver on the occasion of school farewell day party.

Respected teachers and my dear students,

Good Morning / Good Afternoon to each one present here and a very warm welcome to you to the school farewell party.

It's a nostalgic feeling as I remember my student life in school and my school farewell party. I am sure we all have mixed feelings on this day which is a blend of joy and sadness. On one hand you feel enthusiastic as you will be stepping into a completely new different world where you will find relatively more freedom than in a school life. While on the other hand you will feel sad as you have to depart from your school / classmates.

My dear friends the time has come to bid you all farewell with a heavy heart from this esteemed institution which protected you, cared for you, supported you and guided you all these years.

The institution has…

Lyrics and meaning of Brahmamokkate Parabrahmamokkate

This Keertana is one of the best and most popular compositions of Saint Annamayya in which he describes the universal truth of oneness and omnipresence of God in all the creatures alike. The Keertana is sung in Bouli / Mayamalava Goula Ragam.

Tandanana Ahi Tandanana Pure Tandanana Bhala Tandanana
Brahmamokkate Parabrahma Mokkate Prabrahmamokkate Prabrahmamokkate

The word 'tandanana' is a slang used in the local folklore to give a rhythmic punch to the folk music. While the words 'ahi' 'pure' and 'bhala' are words of appreciation in the local language (different dialects of Telugu). The second line describes the oneness of God.

Kanduvagu Heenadhikamu Lindu Levu Andariki Srihare Antaratma
Indulo Jantu Kulaminta Nokkate Andariki Srihare Antaratma

There is no class distinction like high or low and it is Sri Hari (the Supreme God) who dwells in all the beings. There is even no distinction among the creatures as it is He who dw…


Show more