Skip to main content

Our India - States / Union Territories and their capitals - Updated

Guest Post by Veda

About India

  • India is one of the oldest civilizations of the world with rich cultural heritage.
  • The official name of India is Republic of India or Bharat Ganrajya in Hindi.
  • India is a Sovereign Socialist Secular Republic with a Parliamentary system of government.
  • India is the 7th largest country in the world and the 2nd most populated country of the world.
  • The sub-continent of India lies in Asia.
  • India is surrounded by the Great Himalaya Mountains in the North, Bay of Bengal Sea in the East, Arabian Ocean in the West and Indian Ocean in the South.
  • There are 29 States and 7 Union Territories in India.
  • Official language is Hindi which is written in Devanagari script.
  • Currency is Rupee (Rs.) and paise.
  • India became free from British rule on 15th August 1947.
  • A majority of the population follow Hindu religion.

Neighbouring Countries of India

  • Afghanistan and Pakistan are to the North-west of India.
  • China and Nepal to the North.
  • Bhutan to the North-east.
  • Bangladesh and Myanmar the East.
  • Sri Lanka to the South separated from the mainland of India by a narrow strip of sea formed by Palk Strait and the Gulf of Mannar.

States and State Capitals of India

New Delhi

28 States and their capitals

1.  Andhra Pradesh
Amaravati (under construction)
2.  Arunachal Pradesh
3.  Assam
4.  Bihar
5.  Chhattisgarh
6.  Goa
7.  Gujarat
8.  Haryana
9.  Himachal Pradesh
10. Jharkhand
11. Karnataka
Bengaluru (formerly known as Bangalore)
12. Kerala
Thiruvananthapuram (formerly Trivandrum)
13. Madhya Pradesh
14. Maharashtra
Mumbai (formerly Bombay)
15. Manipur
16. Meghalaya
17. Mizoram
18. Nagaland
19. Odisha
20. Punjab
21. Rajasthan
22. Sikkim
23. Tamil Nadu
Chennai (formerly Madras)
24. Telangana (newly formed state)
25. Tripura
26. Uttar Pradesh
27. Uttarakhand
28. West Bengal
Kolkata (formerly Calcutta)

9 Union Territories and their capitals

1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands
Port Blair
2. Chandigarh
3. Dadar and Nagar Haveli
4. Daman and Diu
5. The Govt of NCT (National Capital Territory) of Delhi
6. Jammu & Kashmir
Srinagar (summer capital)
Jammu (winter capital)
7. Ladakh
8. Lakshadweep
9. Puducherry (Pondicherry)

Popular posts from this blog

How to perform Ksheerabdi Dwadasi Pooja / Vratam

Ksheerabdi Dwadasi falls on the 12th day after Deepavali Amavasya in the Hindu month of Kaartika Maasam. It is an auspicious day for the Hindus, particularly the married women. On Ksheerabdi Dwadasi day, married women, mostly in the Southern states perform Tulasi Pooja in the evening. Holy Basil plant is worshiped by the married women on this auspicious day for a happy and blissful married life.

Recommended for reading: Significance of Ksheerabdi Dwadasi. Mostly, married women observe fasting in the daytime on this auspicious day, though it is not compulsory.
Procedure for performing Tulasi poojaRefresh yourself with a shower in the evening and dress in a traditional way as per your family customClean the potted plant and smear turmeric paste around the pot i.e Tulsi kota.Decorate the pot with dots of kumkuma and rice flour. Draw 'Kalyanam bottu' (special way of putting bindi to the brides during wedding) at the center of the dots.Decorate the plant and the pot (Tulasi kota) …

Lyrics and meaning of Brahmamokkate Parabrahmamokkate

This Keertana is one of the best and most popular compositions of Saint Annamayya in which he describes the universal truth of oneness and omnipresence of God in all the creatures alike. The Keertana is sung in Bouli / Mayamalava Goula Ragam.

Tandanana Ahi Tandanana Pure Tandanana Bhala Tandanana
Brahmamokkate Parabrahma Mokkate Prabrahmamokkate Prabrahmamokkate

The word 'tandanana' is a slang used in the local folklore to give a rhythmic punch to the folk music. While the words 'ahi' 'pure' and 'bhala' are words of appreciation in the local language (different dialects of Telugu). The second line describes the oneness of God.

Kanduvagu Heenadhikamu Lindu Levu Andariki Srihare Antaratma
Indulo Jantu Kulaminta Nokkate Andariki Srihare Antaratma

There is no class distinction like high or low and it is Sri Hari (the Supreme God) who dwells in all the beings. There is even no distinction among the creatures as it is He who dw…

Importance And Significance Of Karthika Masam

Karthika Masam is the 8th month in the Hindu lunar calendar. It usually falls in the month of October /November. The Hindu month of Kaartik starts from the next day after Deepavali in the regions where a new month starts after Amaavasya. It is one of the most auspicious and holiest months for the Hindus as it is very dear to both Lord Shiva and Lord Vishnu.

This year (2019) Kaartika Maasam begins on October 29, 2019 (Tuesday) and ends on November 26th. Hindus remain busy through out the month performing poojas, rituals, functions and other such celebrations during the month. It is believed that those who deeply involve in prayers to Lord Shiva would help them in attaining Moksha i.e salvation.
Importance of Kaartika Maasam It is believed that during this month Lord Shiva killed the mighty and powerful demon kings of Tripurasura and thus relieved all the worlds from their clutches.

There is also a belief that Lord Vishnu who goes on a long sleep from Aashada Suddha Ekaadasi day (known…